if connected

Strategy and analysis about mobile, smartphones, tablets and connected experiences

Archive for the ‘News’ Category

Where to follow online – Apple’s WWDC 2012 keynote and the Euro 2012 England vs France match

leave a comment »

The WWDC 2012 event keynote starts at 10am Pacific, 1pm Eastern, 6pm UK and 7pm CET.

For those following the Euro 2012,  UEFA football. The match between England and France clashes with the WWDC keynote. There’s links to live football video coverage here, precise details will vary from country to country based on who has the rights. The match starts one hour before the WWDC presentation. For non-video coverage that works anywhere, see: The Guardian’s football liveblog or the BBC’s live Euro 2012 page.

Anyway, back to WWDC 2012, here’s the list of sites with live coverage of the Apple news:

  • The Verge: Reporting from the event using a new robust liveblog system they first used in anger at E3 last week.
  • MacWorld: Liveblog.
  • Cnet: Liveblog.
  • Engadget: Liveblog.
  • Arstechnica: Liveblog
  • Ubergizmo: A “meta Liveblog” that combines information from other sites. Don’t think they are attending but might be a useful follow anyway.
  • Slashgear: Liveblog.
  • Mac Rumors: Liveblog and updates to twitter via SMS.
  • gdgt: Liveblog from the event (ex-Engadget folks but not as many as are now based on The Verge).
  • Information Week: will be live blogging but the direct link isn’t available yet.
  • TUAW: An in-person event for those in London, who are not following the football, and are after a beer.
  • MacLife: Liveblog from the event.
  • Wired: Claims to be a liveblog, but also points readers to go to the normal front page of Wired and hit refresh.
  • iMore: formerly TiPB (the unofficial iPhone blog).

After the event has finished, Apple will post a video of the presentation here: http://www.apple.com/apple-events/ and as a podcast on iTunes.

Written by Ian Fogg

June 11, 2012 at 12:35 am

Posted in News

Tagged with , , , , , , , , ,

Nokia World 2011: Where to follow the Windows Phone announcements online

leave a comment »

[Update after the event - my analysis of Nokia's just unveiled Windows Phone smartphones is here, enjoy]

Nokia is about to unveil the results of its decision to use Microsoft’s Windows Phone as its main smartphone, rather than Symbian or MeeGo. CEO Stephen Elop will be  leading the keynote at Nokia World 2011 in London.

The presentation starts at 1am San Francisco / 4am New York / 9am UK / 10am Berlin / 4pm Hong Kong / 5pm Seoul / 7pm Sydney.

Here’s the list of sites with live coverage:

Written by Ian Fogg

October 25, 2011 at 6:00 pm

“Let’s Talk iPhone” – Where to follow the Apple iPhone event live online

with one comment

The sites below will be providing live coverage of Apple’s 2011 iPhone event where new iPhones will be unveiled, either the iPhone 4S and/or iPhone5.

I’ll be analyzing the news live on twitter, follow me here @ianfogg42 or read now these just published pieces of Apple analysis: On a core part of iOS5, Apple’s iCloud Enables A Post-PC World That Will Boost iPad & iPhone Sales; and on how to compete with Apple, Apple’s Metrics Demonstrate the Need for Strategy, not Tactics, to Counter the iPhone.

The event starts at 10am Pacific, 1pm Eastern, 6pm UK and 7pm CET.

Here’s the list of sites with live coverage:

After the event has finished, Apple will post a video of the presentation here: http://www.apple.com/apple-events/ and as a podcast on iTunes. Apple are not offering a public live video stream this year.

Update, my analysis of Apple’s announcements is here: iPhone 4S Is a Worldphone That’s Not, as Apple Positions to Counter Android

Written by Ian Fogg

October 3, 2011 at 10:45 pm

Where to follow the Amazon tablet event live

leave a comment »

The sites below will be providing live coverage of the Amazon announcements today, where Amazon’s first tablet will likely be unveiled.

I’ll be analyzing the news live on twitter, follow me here @ianfogg42 or read now my preview of what potential tablet features to watch out for and what the impact will be of each: Amazon’s Kindle Tablet Will Be The First True Media Tablet .

The event starts at 7am Pacific, 10am Eastern, 3pm UK and 4pm CET.

  • This is my next, soon to be The Verge: Liveblog
    (lots of great ex-Engadget folks)
  • PC World / Technologizer: Liveblog
  • Cnet: Liveblog
  • Engadget: Liveblog
  • Gizmodo: Liveblog
  • Arstechnica: Liveblog
  • Boy Genius Report: Liveblog (will work later today in time for the event)
  • Byte / Information Week: Liveblog (page not yet live)
  • intomobile: Coverage here (they’re attending but not sure if this will be a liveblog)
  • Reuters: Liveblog

Written by Ian Fogg

September 28, 2011 at 8:05 am

Posted in News

Tagged with , , , , ,

Where people went to follow the WWDC keynote remotely

leave a comment »

Yesterday, I posted a list of links to sites covering Steve Job’s WWDC keynote live. The post was widely re-tweeted and I’m able to see which of the sites people clicked on. Here’s the results with the most popular ones listed first:

Gigaom 22%
Engadget 19%
Cnet 13%
This is my next 10%
Wired 9%
Macrumors 7%
Gizmodo 5%
Slashgear 3%
Ars Technica 3%
Boy Genius Report 2%
Others 6%

Takeaway – Sites that aimed to do video coverage — not just a text & photos live blog — were more popular.

Written by Ian Fogg

June 7, 2011 at 1:21 pm

Posted in News

Tagged with ,

Where to follow Apple’s WWDC event online

with one comment

The sites below will be providing live coverage of the Apple announcement today, where Steve Jobs is due to detail Mac OS Lion, iOS5 and iCloud.

I’ll be analyzing the news live on twitter, follow me here @ianfogg42.

The event starts at 10am pacific, 1pm eastern, 6pm UK and 7pm CET.

Related post: “Let’s Talk iPhone” – Where to follow the 2011 Apple iPhone launch event live online

Written by Ian Fogg

June 6, 2011 at 3:25 pm

Posted in News

Tagged with , , , , ,

Where to start reading

leave a comment »

If this is your first time here, please read some of my favourite posts, and then do comment on them. I read every thought and try to reply wherever appropriate. Thanks!

Written by Ian Fogg

June 2, 2011 at 11:08 pm

Posted in News